top of page

Welcome newest artist, Danny Kostyshin!

I would love to introduce to you all the newest member to the CCC, Danny Kostyshin!

Danny Kostyshin

I have always considered myself to be a contemporary ceramic artist.I have always valued and encouraged the use of the hand made, in my home, and those of family and friends.Functional work is and still remains an interest. Last century( 1988) I created Political Condom Boxes,to begin to talk about safe sex practice.Paul Mathieu has one of my condom boxes.My Ronald Regan Ceramic composition, was done during that time with intent to comment in clay. I literally brought "contemporary" into my work by inviting a number of local and international artists to come and decorate on a wet plate. My Millennium Plate Project consists of 30 Plates,done in porcelain. Michael Morris, Vincent Trasov, Attila Lukacs, Francesco Conz, all contemporary artists , came to one of my many studio incarnations at Brentwood bay, to contribute and sign a wet plate.The Millennium Plate project is about capturing a time( mid 1999-late 2001) during the change over of the millennium.The work is dated on date of being made. Many more artists contributed. I continued making plates,ending the time component, with a plate done on eve of the announcement of the passing of George Harrison.my Millennium Plate Project can be viewed www.dannykostyshin.com

Danny Kostyshin is a ceramic artist in Vancouver, British Columbia. His work comes from two seemingly different directions. Much of his work is confrontational and deals with themes of sexuality, the environment and HIV/AIDS. His Millennium Plate Project captures a moment in time during which these concerns , as well as references to John Lennon and George Harrison and issues of the soundscape blend with his hopes and aspirations for this new millennium demonstrated in pieces such as "Gay Millennium" and "War Is Over We Gave Peace a Chance". Other artists and friends contributed with their own hopes and concerns for the New Millennium such as "Planet Iceberg" by Michael Morris.


bottom of page